Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Blood of Whisperers

The Blood of Whisperers

An empire on the edge of war threatens to crumble in this action-packed fantasy novel of epic adventure and revenge.

They call him the Usurper.

Once the Kisian empire was ruled by gods. Now Kin Ts’ai, a man of common blood, sits on the Crimson Throne. At his command, the last Otako emperor was executed and a new era began. But claiming an empire is easier than holding it.

In the north where loyalty to the Otako name runs deep, a rebellion grows. And Emperor Kin will learn that killing one Otako, doesn’t mean you’ve killed them all.

Vengeance is coming.

The Vengeance Trilogy
The Blood of Whisperers
The Gods of Vice
The Grave at Storm’s End

For more from Devin Madson, check out:

The Reborn Empire
We Ride the Storm
Read More

Genre: Sci-Fi & Fantasy / Fiction / Fantasy / Action & Adventure

On Sale: August 4th 2020

Price: $19.99 / $24.99 (CAD)

Page Count: 384

ISBN-13: 9780316536868

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reader Reviews

Praise

Praise for Devin Madson:

"With prose that rises above most novels, Devin Madson paints evocative scenes to build an engaging story. Highly entertaining, We Ride the Storm is certainly worth your attention and Madson is an exciting new author in fantasy." --Mark Lawrence, author of Red Sister

"Intricate, compelling and vividly imagined, this is the first in a new quartet that I am hugely excited about. Visceral battles, complex politics and fascinating worldbuilding bring Devin's words to life." --Anna Stephens, author of Godblind on We Ride the Storm

"An utterly arresting debut, Storm's heart is in its complex, fascinating characters, each trapped in ever tightening snarls of war, politics and magic. Madson's sharp, engaging prose hauls you through an engrossing story that will leave you wishing you'd set aside enough time to read this all in one sitting. One of the best new voices in fantasy." --Sam Hawke, author of City of Lies on We Ride the Storm

"A brutal, nonstop ride through an empire built upon violence and lies, a story as gripping as it is unpredictable. Never shying away from the consequences of the past nor its terrible realities, Madson balances characters you want to love with actions you want to hate while mixing in adelightful amount of magic, political intrigue, and lore. This is not a book you'll be able to put down." --K. A. Doore, author of The Perfect Assassin on We Ride the Storm

"Darkly devious and gripping epic fantasy boasting complex characters, brutal battle and deadly intrigue. We Ride the Storm is breathtaking, brilliant and bloody -it grips you hard and does not let go." --Cameron Johnston, author of The Traitor God

"Madson has built a living, breathing world of Empire and fury. We Ride The Storm grabs you by the throat and doesn't let go." --Peter McLean, author of Priest of Bones

"Fans of George R. R. Martin's Song of Ice and Fire series will appreciate the feudal political maneuvering, shifting alliances, and visceral descriptions of combat and its aftermath in this series starter." --Booklist on We Ride the Storm
Read More Read Less

The Vengeance Trilogy