Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

A Time of Dread

A Time of Dread

Acclaimed epic fantasy author John Gwynne returns with the first book in a new trilogy, perfect for fans of George R. R. Martin, Brandon Sanderson, and David Gemmell.

A race of warrior angels, the Ben-Elim, once vanquished a mighty demon horde. Now they rule the Banished lands, but their peace is brutally enforced.

In the south, hotheaded Riv is desperate to join the Ben-Elim’s peacekeeping force, until she unearths a deadly secret.

In the west, the giantess Sig investigates demon sightings and discovers signs of an uprising and black magic.

And in the snowbound north, Drem, a trapper, finds mutilated corpses in the forests. The work of a predator, or something far darker?

It’s a time of shifting loyalties and world-changing dangers. Difficult choices need to be made. Because in the shadows, demons are gathering, waiting for their time to rise…

Read More

Morningstar Award for Best Fantasy Debut, 2013

Genre: Sci-Fi & Fantasy / Fiction / Fantasy / Epic

On Sale: February 20th 2018

Price: $16.99 / $22.49 (CAD)

Page Count: 512

ISBN-13: 9780316502245

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reader Reviews

Praise

"The book reminded me in the very best way of the sort of fantasy I loved in years gone by. Exciting, well-written, swords and sorcery. Try it on for size."—Mark Lawrence

Read More Arrow Icon

"Great evils, conflicted heroes, bloody battles, betrayal, and giants riding battle bears! What's not to love?"—Peter Newman

Read More Arrow Icon

"I loved A Time of Dread and read it from cover to cover in two days. I couldn't put it down."—Miles Cameron

Read More Arrow Icon

"Fans of epic fantasy have something to cheer about: A Time of Dread is marvelous. Gwynne's writing is superb, delivering not only twists and turns but also nuance and complexity."—Sebastien de Castell

Read More Arrow Icon

"An accomplished and rousing tale of heroes and dark deed that fans of epic fantasy will devour."—Tom Lloyd

Read More Arrow Icon

"A fierce, gripping tale, and one I found hugely enjoyable."—Anna Smith Spark

Read More Arrow Icon

"A series that promises the same degree of complexity and depth found in Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time books and George R. R. Martin's Song of Ice and Fire series."—Library Journal (starred review) on Malice

Read More Arrow Icon

"Influenced by Gemmell's Rigante and George R. R. Martin's Game of Thrones ... Hell of a debut."—Conn Iggulden on Malice

Read More Arrow Icon

"Middle Earth-ish extravaganza with all the usual thrills, chills, spills and frills ... there's plenty of action."—Kirkus on Malice

Read More Arrow Icon

"Three-dimensional characters, a gripping plot, and a world that became real to me ... this is the type of fantasy I love to read and I truly can't wait to read the next volume in The Faith and the Fallen!"—Fantasy Book Critic on Malice

Read More Arrow Icon

"John Gwynne hits all the right spots in his epic tale of good vs evil . . . there's a lot of pleasure to be had in this debut novel; Gwynne is definitely one to watch."SFX on Malice

Read More Arrow Icon

"Warring clans, sleeping giants, Banished Lands and omens and portents ... a strong contender for 'if you like Game of Thrones, why not try this?' award."—Independent on Malice

Read More Arrow Icon